Cherokee Marsh

I left the house around five this morning and was up at Cherokee Marsh by 5:30. Perfect birdwatching conditions–cool and clear, spring migrants coming through, and not too much foliage on the trees yet. I didn’t identify most of what I saw.

I won’t usually take so many pictures, but it was a very photogenic day. Besides it’s my first entry!

DSCF0047

Looks peaceful, right? Actually this field was full of geese and Sandhill cranes, squawking and honking and generally making a racket.

DSCF0049

I’m not sure what kind of tree this is with the blossoms–apple, I think? Whatever it was, it smelled wonderful.

DSCF0051

I love this funky old boardwalk, but it got really frost-heaved over the winter and will probably have to be replaced. This is a great spot for listening to frogs!

DSCF0052

My attempt at arty photography. The frost on the grass was just melting as the sun came up.

DSCF0053

Some art at the overlook, no doubt documenting the most recent alien visit.

DSCF0054

Very Wisconsin!

DSCF0055

See that nesting box? Last time I was here, a pair of bluebirds and about a dozen tree swallows were having what looked like a fight to the death for this thing. The bluebirds were sitting on top, but the swallows were divebombing all around them, and one swallow was actually inside the nest. Today I expected to see a pair of swallows perched on top. But nope, the bluebirds were still there, and the swallows were being much more civil. Bluebirds aren’t about to sit there and let you take their picture, unfortunately, so they’re skulking on a stalk where you can’t really see them in this photo.

Birds positively identified at the marsh this morning: Sandhill crane, Canada goose, mallard, yellow-breasted chat, yellow warbler, goldfinch, white-throated sparrow, song sparrow, robin, bluebird, tree swallow, red-winged blackbird, grackle, cardinal, catbird, chickadee…That’s all I can remember off the top of my head. There were a bunch more I couldn’t identify, too. I’m rusty at this!

Leave a comment